84.2 F
New Orleans
Saturday, June 3, 2023

Kiwanis Club of St. Bernard Recognizes Award Winning Teachers

High School Teacher of the Year, Justin Templet (center), is congratulated by Kevin Hoffman and Katherine Lemoine.

Photo Courtesy of Tony Peraita

By Barry Lemoine

At its most recent gathering,representatives from St. Bernard Kiwanis made it clear that the group would not be able to host any of its Terrific Kids celebrations without terrific teachers. To bring that sentiment to life, this year the St. Bernard Kiwanis hosted the district’s Teachers of the Year to a dinner and recognition ceremony.

Spearheaded by member Kevin Hoffman, the evening included a tribute to the outstanding educators who demonstrated excellence in and out of the classroom. Hoffman said the Kiwanis of St. Bernard appreciates the effort and commitment and wanted to do something in gratitude.

In addition to a delicious meal at Rocky and Carlos Restaurant, the teacher honorees were also presented a certificate of recognition as well as a number of gift cards from businesses across the parish.

Hoffman said asking for donations is usually a challenge, but not for this cause. “As soon as I said it was for teachers, everyone wanted to get involved. This was the easiest fundraiser I ever did!”

Joining Hoffman in presenting the awards was School Board Member Katherine Lemoine who also serves as the Associate Vice Chancellor at Nunez Community college.

Lemoine said she was honored to be included in such a special event.

“I am so grateful to have been included in such a beautiful tribute to our teachers who have worked so hard to help students succeed during some really difficult times.” Lemoine congratulated the teachers and thanked the organizers for bringing everyone together. “Our school district is truly blessed to have such great community partners like the Kiwanis. We can’t thank you enough for all you do for the children of our community. And with this new event, for your support of our teachers too.”

This year’s honorees included Arabi Elementary Hena Jaber; Arlene Meraux Elementary Magen Arabie; Chalmette Elementary Alecia Desselle; Joseph J. Davies Meghan McMullin; J. F. Gauthier Sarah Morales; Lacoste Elementary Kelli Burgard; W. Smith, Jr. Elementary Telya Lopez; Andrew Jackson Middle School Daniel Munch; N. P. Trist Middle School Brooke Royce; St. Bernard Middle School Heidi Scharfenstien; Chalmette High School Justin Templet; and Rowley Alternative Robert Borrello.

Hoffman appreciates the efforts of all the teachers in the district and said he was thankful that so many local businesses supported this inaugural event. “Thanks to Crave, The Coffee House, Gerald’s Donuts, Rocky & Carlo’s Restaurant & Bar, Brewster’s Restaurant & Lounge, Desi Romano’s Sports Bar & Grill, Girls Gone Buff, Frozen Fantasies Daiquiris, Rock & Roll Car Wash and MeMe’s Bar & Grille for helping us host this event for all of our teachers.”

Photo by Barry Lemoine

Teachers of the Year from St. Bernard were recently honored at a dinner and recognition ceremony compliments of the St. Bernard Kiwanis. Pictured with the teachers are Kiwanis members Kevin Hoffman and Kristine Koepp.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles